Type Media Center is a non-profit home for independent journalists and truth-tellers at all stages of their careers. Our mission is to produce high-impact journalism and literary nonfiction that addresses injustice and inequality, catalyzes change, informs and uplifts social movements, while transforming and diversifying the fields of journalism and publishing.

See All Highlights

Type Investigations is a nonprofit newsroom dedicated to transforming the field of independent investigative journalism.

More Stories

The Ida B. Wells Fellowship promotes diversity in journalism by helping to create a pipeline of investigative reporters of color who bring diverse backgrounds, experiences, and interests to their work.


For almost two decades, Bold Type Books has been telling stories that inform and empower just as they inspire and move readers to action. A joint-venture of Type Media Center and Hachette Book Group, we are proud to publish award-winning, bestselling books by thought leaders, journalists, activists, whistleblowers, and truthtellers.

Rebel of Rangoon

A Tale of Defiance and Deliverance in Burma

by Delphine Schrank

El Sicario

The Autobiography of a Mexican Assassin

by Molly Molloy & Charles Bowden

Denial and Deception

An Insider's View of the CIA

by Melissa Boyle Mahle

It Was All a Dream

A New Generation Confronts the Broken Promise to Black America

by Reniqua Allen

See All Books

The Journalism Fellowship Program at Type Media Center is a multi-year fellowship that allows emerging and established journalists to write on complex social and political issues. Our fellows form a unique community of thinkers and writers and focus on topics ranging from labor and racial justice to the environmental crisis and international affairs.

Helen Ouyang

Abelin-Bevier Fellow

Rozina Ali

Type Media Center Fellow

Matthieu Aikins

Type Media Center Fellow

Anjali Kamat

Type Media Center Fellow

Breya Jones

Ida B. Wells Fellow

Joe Conason

Type Media Center Fellow

Noy Thrupkaew 

Type Investigations Fellow

Isiah Holmes

Ida B. Wells Fellow

Ari Berman

Type Media Center Fellow

See All Fellows

Type Talk: Race, Resistance & Policing in NYC Race

Type Fellows Collier Meyerson, journalist and host of the new podcast “Love Thy Neighbor,” and Dax-Devlon Ross, writer and host of the upcoming podcast “The Burden,” discuss their reporting and the decades long history of NYPD misconduct in communities of color.  Saki Knafo, reporter and host of the podcast series “Conviction,” moderates the discussion.

More Events